Right Side of the Wrong

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A rant from a right-wing crazy

with 4 comments

On our way back to my apartment today, Seth and I were, admittedly, dressed like hipsters. Behind us, two women were talking about the upcoming election, about the tea party phenomenon gripping the country. They said “Those tea partiers… I don’t support them. They’re all shameless idiots.”

I turned around and simply said “no, not really.” They immediately shut up, awkwardly. They didn’t expect 20-somethings dressed in Converse and Toms Shoes to be so idiotic.

The thing that infuriates me about the left-wing of this country is how self-righteous they are in their fury. They are open minded, they are accepting and they are tolerant. Unless you don’t agree with them. We see it a million times over, most recently in the firing of Juan Williams.

They believe that they are the most intelligent and capable people in the country, and the rest of “fly-over” country should shut up and vote with them in harmony. Because that’s bipartisanship, voting with them.

To them I have this to say: Look at the economies of California and New York verses that of Texas. New York and California have been ruled in every way by Democrat majorities for my entire lifetime. Need I say more? In Texas, in contrast, they have been ruled by the principles that guide the tea party: low taxes, low spending, minimal governmental interference. And guess what? That one state has created more than half the jobs in the United States between August 2009 and 2010, and has seen a net growth of jobs, while California and New York have seen their jobs escape at a clip.

So, if I had to chose, I choose the right. Ignorance is bliss, especially when you have a job.

I can see November from here.

Written by bethanyshondark

October 24, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, for some reason when I place your feed into google reader, it won?t work. Can you give me the RSS link just to be sure I?m using the most appropriate one?

    lida kaufen

    November 12, 2010 at 8:11 am

  2. I truly agree.

    I have friends who, basically for the sake of seeming hipster, take the leftist stance. They don’t expect for people like me (a 20-something yuppie hipster of sorts) to be right-winged, simply because it is “intolerant” and “uneducated.” I am well educated, and I consider myself to be a rather tolerant person.

    To me, they seem intolerant because, as you point out, they say: “vote my way or you’re wrong.” I sense a double standard here…

    Also, great line: “Ignorance is bliss, especially when you have a job.” I definitely agree.

    Thanks for standing up and speaking on such an important issue! And sorry about this novel of a post…heh.

    Sarah G.

    November 12, 2010 at 10:41 am

  3. Bethany- interesting blog. 2 questions: did you keep your last name after marriage and what made you convert to Judaism?

    Dan

    February 22, 2011 at 11:03 pm

  4. there is kneejerk liberalism and there is kneejerk conservatism. they are both infuriating and self-righteous. i went to UW-Madison, and there is a lot of misinformed liberalism there, but there was misinformed conservatism too. or are you saying only liberals are self-righteous and misinformed? you seem to be so upset at kneejerk liberalism (which believe me, i am too) and self-righteous liberalism, but your ideas as expressed in your blog seem self-righteous. help me understand why only one kind of mindless political “positioning” infuriates you. i’m sorry if i’m misreading you.

    bk9

    March 9, 2011 at 8:41 am


Leave a Reply

